A Droid Premiere – Centurion (2010)

A Droid Premiere

I’ve been on a pretty bad run of (self-inflicted) movie experiences recently, with the dire 70’s Arnies, and the hugely disappointing ‘Splice’ amongst a number I don’t dare mention for chance of their mere memory manifesting in to some sort of gigantic anus beast that will feed on me in the most hideous of ways. But, that has all changed. I foresee a brighter (immediate) future as I have entered a new period of viewing experiences. I’ve got awesome 80’s Arnies lined up, yesterday I watched ‘Brighton Rock’, with it’s terrific performance from Richard Attenborough, and then I proceeded to get my ass kicked by ‘Centurion’.

Centurion Poster In 117 AD the Roman Empire has most of the known world under it’s rule. But it’s progress through Britain is halted in the North by the Picts, a Scottish tribe which uses guerilla tactics and unforgiving savagery against the Roman army more used to overpowering opposing armies in open combat. The Ninth Legion, led by General Virilius (Dominic West), is ordered to defeat the Pict clan, but en-route are ambushed and slaughtered. The few remaining survivors, including Quintas Dias (Michael Fassbender), Bothos (David Morrisey) and Brick (Liam Cunningham), must make it out of enemy territory before the Picts find them.

That’s a broad plot description and I think that it’s best not to know too much about the films plot prior to seeing it. I was a little surprised by how it unfolded, which is one of the films many pleasures. It’s not by any means original, but it was a little different to what I expected.

Centurion 4 The acting is excellent, particularly Dominic West as the charismatic General. He’s beloved by the men of the Ninth Legion and in just a few short scenes you can see why. Michael Fassbender is solid as Quintas Dias, the Centurion of the title. He is the films hero, and portrays an intelligent, capable leader of men with believable conviction (although I half wish that West and Fassbender had switched roles; West is that good). There’s a lot of great support from Morrisey, Cunningham and Olga Kurylenko, who plays Etain, a Pict warrior and tracker with a very valid reason to hate the Romans. Despite never saying a single word, she has a strong presence and convinces as a fierce warrior.

Centurion 2 The film is based on a Scottish legend, where the invincible Ninth Legion ventured in to Scotland and disappeared without a trace. Written and directed by Neil Marshall, it’s a brutal and bloody tale of survival. It a bit like ‘Predator’, in that a small group of warriors are picked off one by one by an almost supernatural opponent. Etain, who leads the Pict in the chase, is able to track them across the vast mountains and harsh Scottish terrain with almost leisurely ease. While not entirely believable, this makes her a terrifying foe for our heroes.

Centurion 6 The film, made for just £10 million, looks amazing. I keep making this point over and over again, but where the hell does all that money go on films like ‘Iron Man 2’ and ‘Transformers 2’? I know special effects are expensive, but here, Marshall has created an epic on a pittance, and it looks fantastic. Simply seeing a wide shot of the vast Ninth Legion marching, or the aftermath of the decimating ambush, makes me wonder at how he made this film for so little. Using Scottish locations and historical re-enactment groups (for the Pict and Roman armies), the film never fails to convince of it’s historical setting.

Centurion 3 The dialogue at times was a little too modernized, with characters using terms such as “get laid” and “wide berth”, which I doubt very much was in the vernacular of a Roman almost two thousand years ago. And although the heroes of the film are the men of the Ninth Legion, it was often difficult to feel unsympathetic towards the Pict. They are just in defending themselves against a foreign invasion. Their methods, while brutal, are an intelligent strategy against a huge army. Both Etain, and Gorlacon (Ulrich Thomsen) the chief of the Picts, are legitimately entitled to their hatred of the Romans. This made me somewhat conflicted in where my allegiance lied. While I wanted the Romans to make it back safely, I also felt that the Pict deserved some retribution. This detracted from my involvement in the film a little. And I was a little disappointed, because there is dialogue early in the film that sets up Dias as a terrifying fighter, who’s father was a famed gladiator who taught him how to fight. I was expecting a terrific showdown with Etain, where he unleashes his gladiatorial fighting style, but unfortunately it didn’t live up to my lofty expectations.

Centurion 5 But despite those small problems, ‘Centurion’ is a terrific film, made on a small budget by an immensely talented filmmaker. Trying to envision what Marshall could do with a decent budget (or an Alien film) just melts my brain. This film is getting completely and utterly screwed on release over here, in favour of garbage like ‘Iron Man 2’, ‘Date Night’ and ‘Clash of the Titans’. Do yourself a huge favour and see this instead.

3-changs-out-of-4

Droid

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Judge Droid

In between refining my procrastination skills I talk a lot of shit about movies and such.

27 responses to “A Droid Premiere – Centurion (2010)”

  1. Jarv says :

    Damn it. I’m so jealous, this sounds mint.

    Fuck- I knew we should have seen this instead of 2033.

    • Droid says :

      So 2033 wasn’t any good?

      You will really like this. It’s difficult to imagine how you could not. I know it’s a massive pain in the ass, but I’d recommend taking another trip in to Shitsbury Ave to see it. It’s well worth the trouble.

      • Jarv says :

        I’m fucking sorely tempted.

        2033 wasn’t just bad, it was dreadful. I’ve got a high tolerance for crap and I walked out.

      • Droid says :

        Jesus. You walked out? It must’ve been abysmal.

      • Droid says :

        You going to bother with a review?

      • Jarv says :

        I never walk out as well. I just couldn’t take it any more.

        I’ve mini reviewed it- goes up at 4.

      • Droid says :

        I’ve never walked out of a movie. The closest I came was Hannibal, where I went to pick up my bag 30 minutes in but then considered the 10 bucks I just spent, so I decided to tough it out. Wish I’d walked.

        It’s fucking demoralising going so far out of your way to see a film then it being absolute shit.

      • Jarv says :

        I never do either, but it just got to the fucking point when I got bored of spotting the plagiarism, and there were 2 cunts on an “espionage” mission- which involved walking down corridors, while some other cunt was typing on a keyboard and my temper completely snapped.

        Not to mention that it was late starting AGAIN- so we got the pleasure of watching the “world championship” of Star Craft- complete with loud Yank commentary.

        To be fair, I was bored before it started- so it had a fair bit to make up for.

        Star Craft is officially a shit game, by the way

      • koutchboom says :

        where I went to pick up my bag 30 minutes in

        Why do you have a purse?

      • Droid says :

        Nah, it’s a backpack to secret in the camcorder.

  2. MORBIUS says :

    Just checked, not playing within 50 miles of me, so its a no go. Does it fare comparably to ROB ROY? Don’t have a vivid recollection of it (another film I need to rewatch) but I seem to remember quite liking it at the time. Think that Olga chick was in Hitman w/Olyphant!

    “Honestly…I think I’d rather stick my dick in a blender”…
    Rayain Givens….’Justified.’

    Don’t know if its been here and gone…or what! Could be playing in LaLa Land, Conti would know. Probably have to catch it on DVD.

    • Droid says :

      I don’t think it’s been released in the states yet. Hopefully it will get a better distribution there than here. Even though it’s mostly British funded they’re fucking ignoring it.

      • Jarv says :

        I’m astounded by the treatment it’s got. Doomsday (I know you don’t like it) also got shafted here.

        Fucking joke- this is why the British film industry is in the shitter

      • Droid says :

        The thing is, it’s a real fucking British film. Made by Brits, about Brits (and Romans), financed (in part) by the fucking lottery. It’s baffling.

        I still have to see Dog Soldiers, but I’m really getting worried that I was just in the wrong mood when watching Doomsday. The main thing that annoyed me and all I seemingly remember is that it had ridiculously stupid bits like the musical interlude, and it was a hodgepodge of genres and ideas smudged together. Maybe I need to grab a couple of beers and give it another go.

      • Jarv says :

        It’s not in the same league as Dog Soldiers, The Descent or from the sounds of it Centurion.

        It’s a homage to 80’s films- mad max, EFNY etc, and I really enjoyed it as such, but I do recognise that a lot of it was “cool” for the sake of it.

        It isn’t a coherent film, and in comparison to Marshall’s other efforts it’s a failure.

        I still think it’s an interesting and original film, but it is heavily flawed. Try it with beer.

      • Droid says :

        I’m currently acquiring Dog Soldiers. I will watch it tonight.

      • koutchboom says :

        Also didn’t Doomsday come out like 6 months before hand in America then it did there? Both Doomsday and Descent got decent releases over here.

        I was glad to see The Descent as the underrated horror pick for Micheal Phillips on at the movies this weekend.

      • koutchboom says :

        it had ridiculously stupid bits like the musical interlude

        Are you talking about the Frankie Goes to Hollywood stuff? How dare you speak ill of what is no doubt musical royalty over their.

        But Jarv is right, we snuck beer into Doomsday and it was great.

      • Droid says :

        If I’m suitably pissed I might give Doomsday another go after Dog Soldiers.

  3. ThereWolf says :

    I’d love to see Centurion, only the local Odeon has got just the one showing – at something like 5:25, not even a late show. How the fuck does that happen?

    I love Dog Soldiers. Sean Pertwee is ace…

    “I’m in the khazi!”

    • Jarv says :

      Exactly- that’s a case in point.

      There’s ONE fucking screen in anywhere civilised in London.

      One! in fucking London!

      It’s been shafted royally.

  4. koutchboom says :

    Finally a good movie. Can’t wait.

  5. Droid says :

    Steak, Beer, Dog Soldiers and no work tomorrow.

    Huzzah! Life is good.

  6. lordbronco says :

    I love Dog soldiers, as i have stated many times before.

    Only caveat I have for it is that is is actually quite long-but it’s all kickass so I still watch it over and over again….

    Enjoy!

  7. Bartleby says :

    dog soldiers was just on syfy last night. a seriously underrated little flick.

    glad to hear this one is solid. been looking forward to it.

  8. Droid says :

    Dog Soldiers was good. It was probably 10 minutes too long and kind of clunky. The werewolf effects were a bit rubbish. But thats to be expected. It was probably made for about two quid. It was fun and the characters were amusing.

    *spoiler* So the chick was a werewolf? I didn’t really get that part.

    My Neil Marshall rankings go…

    1. The Descent
    2. Centurion
    3. Dog Soldiers
    4. Doomsday

  9. just pillow talk says :

    Wow, that sounds pretty fucking cool. I really like Marshall…him and Boyle I like what they have done for the most part.

    I love Doomsday because it is a hodge podge of different movies, and the musical interlude makes me laugh, tossing the frisbees and then a little barbecue action.

    Dog Soldiers is quite solid, and I don’t think the effects took away from the movie at all because of the characters.

Leave a comment