Biehn Season, Vol. 2: 2. K2 (1991)

Director: Franc Roddam

Starring: Michael Biehn, Matt Craven, Raymond J. Barry

Biehn Season 2, the second draw pulls out a tale of rock clambering derring-do and shed-loads of snow. Oh, and one rather bloody big mountain…

What’s going on with that poster, eh? Anyone would think it was Chris ‘Epic’ O’Donnell and this was Vertical Limit. It’s not… Very loosely based on the first two American climbers to reach the summit (Jim Wickwire and Lou Reichardt), K2 tells the story of Harold and Taylor, best pals who share a mutual passion for scaling humongous peaks. When a billionaire-funded expedition to Pakistan loses two climbers in a freak avalanche, the pugnacious Taylor muscles a place on the team for family man Harold and himself. All goes swimmingly until a combination of revolting Sherpas and bad weather ensure that neither the ascent, nor the descent will be anywhere near textbook. One thing is certain; the tilt at the Himalayas will change both men…

This is one of those films I have to watch if it’s on, can’t help meself. Snow setting, for starters, I’m a sucker for the melty stuff. A mountain range, I mean come on, is there a finer sight on planet Earth than a sweeping rocky vista? And rock climbing is ace, all that crampon action and the fingering of crevices, all very Zen. Is that an oxymoron? It’s hardly relaxing when sudden death lurks every inch of the way. I must’ve seen K2 at least three times over the course of a couple of years way back when and each time it was different. Saw it on VHS with a Hans Zimmer score (though it credits Chaz Jankel), then on telly with two or more extra scenes, then on tape again with Chaz Jankel music (but one Zimmer cue) and the first half hour of the film re-cut. I reckon the ‘Jankel’ version works best simply because it gets to the climbing quicker and moves the soap opera back. Do we need to see Harold (Matt Craven) under pressure from the wife, Cindy (Julia Nickson-Soul… yeh, ex-Mrs David now), to spare her and the little ‘un some of his climbing time? Nope. Do we need to see Taylor (The Biehn) operating as a sleazy lawyer? Nyet. Everything you need to know about these characters happens on the mountain.

"Hey, Taylor! Did you know you've grown a tail?"

I cannot stress enough how great it is to watch one of these shot on location. If they were doing K2 today there would be a ton of green screen wizardry going on. Even seeing it again (and this looks like the first VHS version I saw, only with approx 10 minutes missing thanks to a shit upload) I was going, ‘whooo, that’s bloody dangerous, innit’. Nowadays, no fear factor; they’re on a stage. Granted, you know it’s not Biehn, Craven et al doing the hairy stuff but then there’ll be a couple of close-ups with a long drop behind them and you’re thinking, one foot wrong = one dead actor. Good feeling. Obviously, not the thought of actors plummeting to their death is a good feeling… actually I can think of a few actors I’d like to see plummet but none are in this. There’s nothing terribly spontaneous about the screenplay; pretty much what you’d expect to happen in this film happens. Sliding into fissures, avalanche, oedema, food shortage, catastrophe, death, windy tents, Sherpas going on strike, giant robots… Hah! Got yer! Only joking about the windy tents.

Stagecoach's new Himalayan bus service drew some surprise...

It’s all a bit stop-start, to be honest (as I’m sure the real thing is). No sooner do the crew get trekking they’ve stopped again for some reason, usually due to revolting Sherpas. I should probably stop referring to them as Sherpas – these blokes are just regular porters really. This results in a funny moment when an exasperated Taylor starts burning their wages in the hope of shifting them. When they see that money going up in flames, those porters perk up like startled meerkats, most amusing. Then Dallas (Luca Bercovici) remarks to Taylor, “Think I’ll nominate you as Ambassador to Pakistan.” When the porters aren’t revolting, they’re dancing – edited down in the ‘Jankel’ version, spoilsports. And when there’s neither dancing nor revolting to distract you from the mundane, there’s a spot of dead dude canoodling as a special treat. In amongst all of this is team leader billionaire Claiborne’s oedema drama (got a nice ring to it that – oedema drama), nursemaided by the tomboy-ish Jacki (Patricia Charbonneau). The fact that they’ve got to get Claiborne (Raymond J. Barry) off the mountain before the rarefied air kills him adds another dramatic beat; he’ll be taking the last jelliwopter out of Dodge leaving Taylor & Co stranded without aid.

Pink parka... you wear it well, Mike

K2 only gets cracking in the last forty minutes. Roddam knows this hunk of rock is his saviour; the film finally shakes off the staccato rhythm and we get blokes versus Nature and all she can chuck at them. Harold & Taylor’s run at the summit, plus the perilous return journey is compelling stuff. The hazardous setting does most of the work for them but it’s well played by the actors, especially when Harold takes a spectacular tumble and breaks his leg. The Biehn is loving every minute of this, total opposite to The Art Of Bore. This is 1991 though and he’s come off a few top movies. His enthusiasm shines through, he’s in his element tromping through the snow. Biehn does some of his best work in the personal scenes with ‘H’ after the fall, when he has to dig deep, displaying the torment of either staying with his friend and dying or saving himself (“I want some nobility, goddammit!”). Look at the moment Harold tries to pass on his wedding ring for Taylor to take back to Cindy; Taylor reacts as a vampire would to a crucifix, nearly.

"One day, someone will make a great movie of this book..."

I don’t know what Roddam thinks he’s doing with the Dallas character, he veers too close to painting him as a villain. Dallas has got personal issues with Taylor, he doesn’t like him. Quelle surprise; Taylor is without doubt a ginormous twat. But anyway, the script has them butting heads at every opportunity, it’s quite wearying. Eventually, with four of them just below the summit, the ailing Claiborne back at base camp decides only two can go on. With Dallas in charge, he obviously picks himself and his regular climbing mate, Takane (Hiroshi Fujioka). Seems logical to me, especially as Taylor starts whining on – “but I’m the best climber…” – that’s not winning any fans. But as far as Roddam is concerned it’s job done, Dallas cemented as a bastard and a little later, when disaster strikes the summit attempt, I think the audience is supposed to be at least half pleased at Dallas’s fate. Not really. Matt Craven does okay; I don’t think ‘H’ specifically grows as a character as the summit draws near but he certainly learns a damn sight more about his friend. Sometimes it feels more like he’s there only to complete Taylor’s arc. But maybe that’s the point, maybe that’s why Taylor takes him; ‘H’ is his salvation. That and a big fuck-off mountain.

The loving couple - pictured in happier times...

The music’s a funny one to examine. Me, personally, I prefer nothing on the soundtrack bar the shrieking of the wind, the shouting of the climbers, ice being skewered by crampons and the sound of cams biting rock. It’s all there on the screen, you don’t need any musical punctuation. I’m not saying either score is bad; both Chaz Jankel (he was in The Blockheads) and Hans Zimmer (he was in The Buggles!) come up with some decent tunes. As big a fan of Zimmer as I am, I’d have to say Jankel’s music fits better. It’s quieter, there’s less of it, he kind of riffs on Pink Floyd, principally Shine On You Crazy Diamond – it’s rather good. Zimmer goes bigger, a lot of crescendos. Maybe a couple of the more triumphal scenes, I think, require a loud statement. Jankel isn’t all that keen and when he finally pulls one out (in a manner of speaking) to finish the movie he sounds almost reluctant to do so. Nice lyrical guitar on both scores though.

"Top of the world, ma!"

Conclusion: Good one for Mike, but K2 really only begins to rock on Harold & Taylor’s two-man slog and subsequent descent, all the other theatrical bollocks just slows down the momentum. For sure though, K2 is no Vertical Limit

Oh, yeh, how’s this for a coincidence… Taylor’s reading a copy of Sun Tzu’s The Art Of War. How mad is that? So, like the film The Art Of War, Bly spouting about sacrificing an agent in the field, Taylor’s applying it to mountain climbing here.

 

Trailer: http://tinyurl.com/6ej3cl6

Movie link (‘Jankel’ version): http://tinyurl.com/6abgm8o

 

Cheers, folk

ThereWolf, July 2011

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About ThereWolf

I only come out at night... mostly...

41 responses to “Biehn Season, Vol. 2: 2. K2 (1991)”

  1. tombando says :

    You know I have never seen this—sounds like it’s worth a watch. Plus you are right, 20 years ago they would be filming at least (some) of this on location, or at least in a location that met the criteria.

    Which do you prefer-this or Vertical Limit? I say go for the gusto and take Vertical Horizon instead. She’s everything you want.

    • ThereWolf says :

      Yeh, I’m not sure where they filmed – possibly British Columbia and I think they shot some of it in the Himalayas. Great scenery, wherever they shot, plus it’s well shot too – Gabriel Beristain, the ‘Blade’ sequel guy is the DoP.

      I’ve got a soft spot for ‘Vertical Limit’, but I’d have to go with ‘K2’…

  2. Xiphos0311 says :

    Obviously, not the thought of actors plummeting to their death is a good feeling

    I was going to jump right in with in an Oh yeah? I can name more then a few that would be a great feeling if they plummeted to their death when you beat me to it with this:

    actually I can think of a few actors I’d like to see plummet but none are in this

    I agree! Sean Penn and Tim Robbins first.

    I saw this once when it first came out and all i remember is some of the climbing scenes, which were well staged. Practical effects rule.

    I kinda of wondering why I didn’t watch the movie more since I was half ass into climbing back then. It was a phase.

    • ThereWolf says :

      I thought you’d be all for Tom Hanks hurtling earthward before those two!

      I nearly mentioned Hayden Christensen but I thought if I opened that particular can of worms I’d go on for reams naming names… The Strause Brothers for a start (I’d just watched ‘Skyline’)…

      Did a bit of climbing then, eh. I’d be hopeless; I can’t go up a step ladder without getting vertigo.

      • Xiphos0311 says :

        Nope don’t hate Tom Hanks in fact I enjoy several of his older pre-Oscar movies. Hanks seems like an affable fellow who plays himself in every movie he’s in. He’s the only actor I can think of that willingly typecasts himself as himself in every movie.

        I guess you were thinking that I would hope Hanks took a tumble off a mountain because of SPR? While I think he was entirely miscast and horrible in his role I don’t hate him or The beard for that matter. I will however go to my grave slagging them for that wretchedly awful movie.

        Yes I got bitten by the climbing bug for about 7-8 months(not consecutively) between 1990 and 1992. Between the cash outlay for equipment and spending time with climbers, who are complete knobs, I called it quits. I did sort of enjoy Free Climbing I was getting into right before I pulled the plug.

      • Droid says :

        I think on of the fundamentals of becoming a “Name Above The Title” superstar is that you have an agreeable personality and you essentially play yourself in every role. A variation on your projected self anyway. It’s the same with Cary Grant, Jimmy Stewart, John Wayne through to Tom Hanks, George Clooney, Will Smith and now Ryan Reynolds to name just a few. This is not a knock against any of these guys. I like them all and they’re all good actors, but I’ve never seen any of them in a movie and not thought that I’m watching that actor play a variation on themselves.

      • Xiphos0311 says :

        I generally agree with your point Droid about the other actors, but I don’t think it applies to Hanks and here’s why. Virtually every other actor you mentioned, with maybe Will Smith being the sole exception, has played good guys, bad guys, bad guys that do good, good guys that did bad, the everyman with issues etc. With Hanks, even in his one mild turn as a “bad guy”, has always been Tom Hanks and nothing else. It works for him but it’s also incredibly lazy on his part that he never once tried to break from the amiable good guy he see’s himself as.

      • Jarv says :

        Which mild turn? That sack of shit The Ladykillers?

      • Jarv says :

        I’ve got a weird attachment to The Burbs.

      • Droid says :

        That’s true now that I think about his CV. Apart from Road to Perdition, where he was a “bad guy” but not really, the only film I can think of where he’s tried something that doesn’t fit the Tom Hanks leading man mould is The Ladykillers. And we all know how that one turned out.

        I still rate ‘Big’ as his best movie, and probably his best performance too.

      • Xiphos0311 says :

        I agree about Big being Hank’s best work as an actor and it’s a great movie one I will always watch if I come across, but I think his best movie is Bachelor Party and I have a fondness for Volunteers that I can’t really explain.

      • Droid says :

        Bachelor Party’s a funny movie. One of his best. I haven’t seen Volunteers. I liked Splash as a youngster, but I haven’t seen it in a long, long time. Not sure how it holds up.

      • Xiphos0311 says :

        I can’t really justify my liking Volunteers in any way. I realize it’s a very throw away 80’s type movie except by saying we all have those movie we like which makes no logical sense to like.

        I watched Splash maybe 3-4 years ago and I thought it held up pretty well. It’s a fairly timeless story with a very nice, very I guess, sweet nature to it that makes it hard to dislike. Splash is a little dated with some of it’s references and some clothes, Walkmans and the like. Plus it’s odd now to see movies with the World Trade Centers in them but overall it works.

      • Droid says :

        Yeah, its funny about the WTC buildings. It’s almost an automatic response now for me to perk up when I see them in an older film. I don’t know why.

      • Xiphos0311 says :

        Jarv I was referring to Road To Perdition. I know I saw Lady Killers but all I can remember about it is Hanks dofus accent.

      • Jarv says :

        I fucking detest Road to Perdition.

        Is he actually “bad” though in that? I would say he isn’t.

      • Xiphos0311 says :

        I don’t like Road to Perdition either but I remember reading the advance press for it and how it was heralded as Hanks turn to the “dark side.” It wasn’t of course but whenever a conversations about Hanks range comes up, RtP is always mentioned as Hanks bad guy role.

      • Droid says :

        Jarv, he’s a bad guy, but not really. He’s bad in the sense that he’s a hitman for the mob. But he’s still the hero of the story. They stack the deck by putting him against the reprehensible Daniel Craig character and the disfigured (if memory serves) Jude Law character. He’s “bad” but not bad like these other goons.

      • Droid says :

        I barely remember the movie, but I don’t think they show Hanks carrying out any of his hitman duties. They kind of sweep it under the rug.

      • Xiphos0311 says :

        There was one sort of scene Droid where Hanks and another guy machined gunned some goons in a barn then I think Hanks killed the other shooter. I think Hanks kid saw him do if I remember correctly.

      • ThereWolf says :

        If we’re talking Tom Hanks – it’s ‘The Burbs’ all the way for me.

        I don’t mind ‘The Money Pit’ either. And ‘Big’, without a doubt.

        Sorry about that, Xi, I had you down as Hanksophobic for some reason, beyond SPR even.

      • Xiphos0311 says :

        There’s no need to apologize Wolf. I rag on SPR an awful lot and Hanks casting in it, plus I do, on occasion, rail on Hanks for always playing it safe, so it’s pretty easy to miss that I actually like the guy. For the record prefer his pre-Oscar output over his post Oscar work

  3. Jarv says :

    Very nice review of a film I’ve not seen. Weirdly.

    Vertical Limit is poo, though.

  4. Frank Marmoset says :

    Nice one, ThereWolf. I will definitely give this one a look next time it turns up on telly.

    And I agree, something we don’t see enough these days is actors or stunt people doing real things in real locations. It’s become too easy to cheat with CGI or green screens, which creates some cool imagery but doesn’t give you that ‘Holy crap, someone actually did that!’ feeling.

    • Jarv says :

      The thing that annoys me about Green Screen/ CGi is that it’s so much less effective and ages far worse than practical effects.

    • ThereWolf says :

      Cheers, Frank.

      Exactly as you say. And here you’ve got a stunt guy/ professional climber ‘running’ across a cliff face to get a grip of a ledge while there’s a sheer drop beneath him and it’s… exhilerating.

      Now it’s “Nah, we don’t need to go halfway up a mountain, just do it in the computer – same thing”.

  5. Droid says :

    Vertical Limit FTW!!! (Had to be done)

    Strange, but I haven’t seen this. I’ve always intended to, but it’s never happened.

    Can we watch Bradley Cooper plummet, please?

    Nice one, Wolf.

    • ThereWolf says :

      Thanks, Droid.

      If Bradley Cooper deserves it, why not. Don’t know if I’ve seen a film with Cooper in it, actually.

      I love a bit of ‘Vertical Limit’, me! Just seeing the torture on O’Donnell’s face at the beginning as he tries to decide whether or not to cut the rope. At least I think it’s torture, he might have just shit himself.

      I’m also fascinated by a Robin Tunney interview in the DVD extras. Well, her breasts, I’m fascinated by her breasts, to tell the truth…

    • tombando says :

      You do get to see cooper plummet in a tank in last year’s a team you know. Counts for something.

  6. just pillow talk says :

    Geez, I haven’t seen this either.

    Why couldn’t I say the same about Vertical Limit? Damn you constipated Chris O’Donnell!

  7. MORBIUS says :

    Ho Wolf,

    Have never seen this, but will rectify that
    with the link you provided. Thanks.

    My favorite ‘climbing’ movie is
    THE EIGER SANCTION, ever seen it?

    And, Robin Tunneys’ Breasts, FTW!!!

    Wassail

    • Xiphos0311 says :

      I agree Morbius the Eiger Sanction had some great climbing scenes in it which is about all I remember. Wasn’t the story line super convoluted and didn’t Eastwood do all his own climbing stunts? I guess I’ll go look that info up.

      • tombando says :

        No problems w hanks in volunteers or splash. Also like perdition despite its weak points. As for guys w the same persona in their films, you know i have to toss in cagney’s name just because.

      • MORBIUS says :

        Hi Xi,

        Yeah, Eastwood was a hitman of sorts,(sanctions)
        and was supposed to ‘take out’ one of the other
        climbers going up the North Face of the Eiger.
        Things weren’t always as they seemed, a lot of
        twists and turns … Haven’t seen it in forever,
        definitely need to refresh my memory of this.

    • ThereWolf says :

      Yo, Morbius!

      I couldn’t post the link for the one I watched coz of the missing 10 minutes so I picked a Youtube link. I watched the first 10-15 minutes and it looks like the ‘Jankel’ version, which I’ve now discovered is the standard U.S. version – gets rid of the club scene and goes directly to climbing after the chicks’ apartment shenanigans. So that’s a plus.

      Yeh, ‘The Eiger Sanction’ – there’s some top mountain action in that one. Good call, Mo. I’d forgotten about that…

      And I’ve just had to watch Robin Tunney’s breasts again.

  8. tombando says :

    Buf remember, you also have snidely whiplash aka jack cassidy as the baddie. That counts as something.

  9. MORBIUS says :

    Wolf,

    If that Clairborne character had Mommy and Daddy issues it might have been an

    Oedipus Oedema Drama …Sorry about that!

    Really liked a lot of the early climbing scenes and the panoramic views later on, but couldn’t imagine that H was a world class climber. Babysitting and working in a research lab, as opposed to MB having all the workout equipment in his office, and keeping fit. Also, it DIDN’T have Robin Tunneys Breasts!!! Wassail

    • ThereWolf says :

      Heh… nice work with the Oedipus etc…

      No, ‘H’ didn’t seem like the sort did he. He doesn’t seem to need climbing like Taylor does. It might be deliberate, story-wise. Not sure.

  10. tombando says :

    I seem to be missing something, what’s wrong w road to perdition? Seems to be pretty solid to me. I also like catch me if you can. Not so big on the man w one red shoe.

Leave a comment