47 responses to “Jarv V The London Olympics”

  1. Droid says :

    hehehehehehe

    Grump.

    *sent from Droid’s home computer*

  2. Droid says :

    Leaving aside all the stuff like expenses, traffic lanes, opening ceremony embarrassments, which I agree with, I also agree 100% that the Olympics is filled with superfluous sports. But, that is why I’ve traditionally liked it. When you can become an armchair expert on clay shooting, judge the merits of a high dive, or actually follow a tai kwan do fight. These random “sports” are amusing. I remember watching a lot of the kayaking slalom. Baffling, but strangely involving. Watching each successive competitor, and getting to the point where you talk crap like you know all about it. “Oh, didn’t nail that turn.” I find this funny.

    I haven’t watched an Olympics since Sydney, but I think I’ll see quite a bit of this one.

    • Jarv says :

      Actually, I don’t mind the obscure ones.

      It’s the “professional” ones like football that bug me. Sure, keep the likes of Judo, whatever (which really isn’t that much of leap from wrestling anyway) but bin all the sports for which the Olympics isn’t the pinnacle of the game.

      Football, Basketball and Tennis are the first three I’d get rid of. Football in particular- Bale withdrew from the GB squad through injury, yet he played for Spurs? That really says it all about that one.

      There used to be some great insane events that I’d rather see than bloody street cycling (which isn’t the pinnacle) and we’re likely to get a load of medals in that.

  3. Xiphos0311 says :

    Logo= governments by and large suck

    Mascots=government sucks plus profit motive, profit motives are A Ok

    The waist= obviously governments sucks

    Corporate whoring= by products of governments being populated by scumbags that excel at whoring while giving whoring a bad name.

    Public transport and unions= governments suck and UNIONS are now just evil government sucking appendages that serve zero purpose and are populated by even worse parasites that what inhabit governments.

    I’ve known a few people that have tried out for various Olympic sports one evening making it as an alternate and man the time and training some of them put in was impressive.

  4. tombando says :

    Yeah I remember the whole 1996 Atlanta fiasco, all the same complaints were made there and frankly for the other Olympics. I ignore’em to be honest, they became this goofy over-hyped $$$ orgy ala the Superbowl 30 years back (LA!) and it’s just gotten worse and worse.

    Andy Murray pic! good deal. Steroids? Where’s the shot of Serena Williams again-?!

    Jarv and Droid I do feel your pain. That ugly, atrocious Olympic Stadium in Montreal from ’76 was the WORST excuse for a baseball park Ever, the Expos could NOT wait to get outta Montreal, it was an ugly pit and should have been levelled decades back. Looks like you have more of the same there. Yay East-Enders!

    Good article by the way.

  5. Tim The Film Guy says :

    Haha I totally agree, thank god I live in Liverpool as far away from London and still be in England :D It’s going to be a horrific failure haha and I am just going to sit back and watch it burn to the ground

  6. Just Pillow Talk says :

    Didn’t the ringing of the bell go off, well, quite hysterically, but flying off and splitting in two?

    I have always failed to see the benefits of hosting the Olympics.

    One of the guys in the Finance department for our parent company has his kid participating in the Olympics for Belgium….4 x 4 relay race or some such sort.

  7. Xiphos0311 says :

    not sure what the hell I watched.. but it was something….that was some bizarre opening ceremonies…

    • Jarv says :

      Fucking dreadful. I fell asleep during the parade.

      • Xiphos0311 says :

        was it worse with sound? I was just half ass watching it on the TV in the bar I was at.

      • koutchboom says :

        Naw the music was pretty bad ass, this death drummer chick whose like England’s number 1 drummer did the beats with ummm that one band that had that one hit on that one Danny Boyle movie that they showed a clip of…Born Slippy???? The name escapes me, they were the gayer Prodigy whatever they were called, or less interesting Orbital if you well, and not nearly as good or popular Chemical Brothers.

      • koutchboom says :

        OH yeah their name was the inspiration for that Female Blade vampire series Jarv’s on about right now. THEM.

      • Jarv says :

        Underworld.

        The ran through British popular music- blur featured as well.

      • Jarv says :

        Also did the Sunshine Soundtrack iirc

  8. koutchboom says :

    So just watched the opening ceremonies, really fun. Loved that industrial bit and that music. Heheh it was funny all the Bond/Queen shit…and it doesn’t seem like they even fucking met.

    But anyways so what role did you and Droid have in the ceremonies? Cause every single person in the UK had to have been involved in that thing.

  9. ThereWolf says :

    Heh-heh… Great post.

    I’m not interested in the Olympics – that’s in general. Not on me radar, any of it. I had a rant at work when I learned they were playing football at Old Trafford, on my bus route. I was worried about traffic but as it turned out there were no hold ups. Still… it’s the LONDON Olympics – why are they playing in Manchester?

    • Jarv says :

      I missed one of my big annoyances- the fucking archery being at Lords meant we had to have a test match cancelled. But given the pumping England took, that may be a blessing in disguise.

  10. Jarv says :

    Synchronised Diving is weird.

    I do wish the BBC would stop wanking about Daly.

  11. Jarv says :

    Anyone seen Ye Shiwen’s time in the swimming? Just because she hasn’t been caught doesn’t mean she isn’t doped to the gills.

    Anything that extreme is automatically suspicious.

  12. Xiphos0311 says :

    what? the sleazy slimy Chicoms are cheating well this sums it up:

  13. tombando says :

    Kinda agree. But then we know Mssrs Nadal, Djokovic and Williams do the same thing.

  14. Jarv says :

    Well, that’s now a relatively successful day for the British. 2 golds.

    I’m all full of excitement.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 680 other followers

