Jarv’s Birthday Series Redux: Jeepers Creepers (2001)

Jeepers Creepers (August 23rd Central Europe)is a problematic film to review. It’s an OK movie, don’t get me wrong on this, and I did quite like it until I happened to find out a few salient points about the director, Victor Salva. There’s a whole level of discourse that has gone on over the years about separating the artist from the work, but it’s something that I’ve always struggled with. It’s a bit of a shame actually, that I now look back at films such as Jeepers Creepers with the knowledge that Salva is a convicted paedophile of the rankest kind having served a pathetic reduced sentence for filming the abuse of a 12 year old boy. Still, I’ll do my best.

Contains rubbish songs from 1938 and spoilers below

Darry (Justin Long) and Trish (Gina Phillips) are a very unlikely brother and sister. Driving across country, they play a game to pass the time, spotting license plates and assembling words out of them. Spotting a big black truck, Darry naïvely calls the number plate as “Beating You”. Next thing you know, they’re stuck in a nightmare from Duel with the truck appearing to attempt to run them off the road. Spotting a shadowy man dropping what looks like a body down a pipe, Darry pulls them over to investigate.

TomTom proved to be no use in the middle of Nebraska.

Due to an act of incompetence, Darry himself is dropped down the pipe and finds himself in the basement of an old church that houses countless corpses, all of which have been dismembered in some way. After a disconcerting call from a psychic (Patricia Belcher) who warns them to run if they hear the tune “Jeepers Creepers”, they spend the rest of the film battling “the creeper”, a pathetic refugee from Buffy the Vampire Slayer. Eventually, the film culminates in the Creeper cutting swathes through a police station to get at the twins- before he takes off with Darry into the night.

This is a film of 3 parts, or acts if you will. The first act is easily the best bit with Darry and Trish being traumatised by the menacing truck and the discovery at the church. The tension is high, and the film pumps along at a rare old clip. Long and Phillips are sympathetic in the lead roles, and their inter-sibling bickering comes across as highly convincing. At this stage of the film, Jeepers Creepers looks like it could be a potential classic.

“When I hit the dashboard, bring the car to an immediate stop”

The second section somewhat lags in comparison. The eventual reveal of the creeper is a bit of a let down, and squanders the effective imagery with the scarecrow, while all the psychic nonsense is somewhat tiresome, Belcher does at least try hard with what is a hokey and half-baked role. Her purpose in the film is clearly to guide the audience through the mythology, but really, she poses more questions than she provides answers. There is a notable high point in the film, with Trish running the monster over and then backing over him to make sure, but really, it’s not great.

“Are you sure this is where you hid my Pokemon collection?”

The finale in the cop shop, on the other hand, is poor. By now the Creeper has been revealed, and he’s quite blatantly a man in a plastic suit. The tension from the first section has been completely dissipated, and the monster is, to put it kindly, ludicrously over-designed. He’s had the entire kitchen sink thrown at him, and I’m not joking about this: wings, stupid flaps on his face, a head shroud thing, can climb on walls, ceilings etc, long white hair and so forth. Less, with the Creeper really would have been more. As a result, the last third of the film is very, very silly and to be honest a bit of a waste. To be fair, though, the film does throw a nice bait and switch, working hard to make the audience believe that Trish was the Creeper’s target for the whole film, before revealing the victim to be Darry at the climax. So, there is always that.

Jesus was much happier when they gave him a hat.

The mythology here is quite well thought out. The Creeper awakens once every so often, and has to hunt victims to replace body parts (via consumption) that are failing. He finds parts from people that are compatible with him by inducing a fear-based adrenalin rush and therefore tasting the pheromones released. This is a good idea, used effectively in the first third, and consummated with the repellent licking scene in the finale. Unfortunately, the only way to get this complex mythology across is to use the psychic as a kind of magic exposition machine- it’s on her shoulders to deliver the faintly ridiculous detail that the plot needs. I’m not for this, personally, and would have left it out, because as Halloween showed, a motiveless killing machine is always far more effective than a monster with a back story. To abuse a Keats quote, the magic always seems to vanish for me when films insist on unpicking the rainbow.

Celine Dion was looking a bit worse for wear nowadays, and even the groupies tried to escape.

Then there’s my fundamental problem with the film- I know you’re meant to separate the art from the artist and all that, but, really, he’s a disgusting fucking degenerate pervert. In all honesty, I find it really hard to feel anything in the way of affection for this film. Which is a shame, because it’s clearly well made, and although not the polished article, I can’t, legitimately, ever warm to it and, further, I begrudge the money I spent on the cinema ticket. Yes, I know this is fundamentally unfair, and more of a criticism of me than the film, but I’m never going to acclaim this one.

Overall, judged on its own merit, Jeepers Creepers is an OK monster movie. It works well for the most part, and it does pass the time without being particularly offensive. Sadly, I find myself unable to divorce the film from the director, and that, I suppose is a bit of a pity. If this is your sort of thing, then you’ll have fun with it, if not then it doesn’t stink the screen up. I’m going to give it 2 crap rubber monsters making out with Captain Kirk out of a possible 4, even though every fibre of my being is screaming to slaughter it.

Next up, is the thoroughly lousy Gossip, a film that wants to be a twisty-turny type thriller but fails.

Until then,

Jarv.

The Full List for the Birthday Series Redux:

  • 2011- The Skin I Live In (2.5 out of 4)
  • 2010- The Last Exorcism (2.5 out of 4)
  • 2009- Post Grad (1 out of 4)
  • 2008- The House Bunny (1 out of 4)
  • 2007- Knocked Up (1 out of 4)
  • 2006- Volver (1 out of 4)
  • 2005- Red Eye (2 out of 4)
  • 2004- Dead Clowns (Orangutan of Doom)
  • 2003- Lara Croft Tomb Raider: The Cradle of Life (1 out of 4)
  • 2002- Talk to Her (4 out of 4)
  • 2001- Jeepers Creepers (2 out of 4)
  • 2000- Gossip
  • 1999- All About My Mother
  • 1998- The X-Files
  • 1997- Romy and Michelle’s High School Reunion
  • 1996- The Last Supper
  • 1995- The Usual Suspects
  • 1994- The Color of Night
  • 1993- Surf Ninjas
  • 1992- The Gun in Betty Lou’s Handbag
  • 1991- Pump Up the Volume
  • 1990- Wild at Heart
  • 1989- Bull Durham
  • 1988- Crossing Delancey
  • 1987- The Big Easy
  • 1986- Texas Chainsaw Massacre 2
  • 1985- Better off Dead
  • 1984- Oxford Blues
  • 1983- MetalStorm: The Destruction of Jared-Syn
  • 1982- The Thing
  • 1981- Honky Tonk Freeway
  • 1980- Schock
  • 1979- Rich Kids
  • 1978- Coma
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About Jarv

Workshy cynic, given to posting reams of nonsense on the internet and watching films that have inexplicably got a piss poor reputation.

85 responses to “Jarv’s Birthday Series Redux: Jeepers Creepers (2001)”

  1. Droid says :

    I like this movie. But I haven’t seen it since it came out so I don’t know how I’d feel about it considering what I know now about the director. I think I am able to separate the experience of the film from the facts of real life. I’ve watched Polanski films with an open mind. Probably could do the same here.

    • Jarv says :

      I struggle, to be honest.

      I’ve watched Polanski films made pre-criminal event and been OK, but this was 7 years after Salva’s conviction.

      I try to be impartial, but It’s hard.

      • Jarv says :

        Also, and this is something I should have written about, in context of what he did, the way he films Long is nasty. It’s the same way Bay films Megan Fox.

  2. Bartleby says :

    decent review Jarv. I see your struggle with this, and honestly, there’s something here that’s different than Polanski films. Im in no way defending RP movies, and he’s no better than Salva–nor is Salva bettert than IMO for serving a flimsy-ass sentence. Most of Polanksi’s stuff isn’t usually channeling his own perversity in that way, and as someone who was unaware of Polanski’s history for many years, I never noted the correlation in his work.

    Not so with Salva.

    I don’t think the art can be separated here because of several very unsettling undertones–undertones I recognized both in this film, it’s sequel, and Powder, long before I knew Salva was a paedophile. For one, there’s an odd suspicion in both films that Salva relates in some way with the central figures in Powder and Jeepers Creepers, that is the albino kid and the monster. In Powder you can see this pedo relating to this weird albino shut-in who is ostracized, at one point because of his homosexual attraction to another young boy (Powder is also a teen so it’s not SUPPOSED to be as creepy, but it is). There’s shots of Powder staring long and lovingly at a young boy taking a shower, and then the town bullies grab him and dump him in the mud, which ultimately results in his electrocution./death/transcendence, whatever.

    In JC, I guess there’s the initial feeling that at least Salva is correlating his situation with the monster, which is not a sympathetic creature. I dont think this lets him off the hook, since it’s kind of a slasher movie and in these types of pics, one can find rooting interest in the monster. Creepy when you think that once this thing has sniffed Long’s underwear, stalked him, licked him, the creature ultimately WINS, and snatches ayoung boy up and away from his family, eludes law enforcement, and takes said young man back to it’s dungeon where it tortures him while he screams as it does its thing. The final shot is the creature staring out through the hollow eyes of its victim. Har har. .

    In the sequel it’s hunting a whole schoolbus full of young jocks, all lined up in one tracking shot taking a piss together. The sequel in fact reveals that–at least as much as we see—the Creepy mostly hunts young males.

    Jeepers Creepers indeed. There was a better, smarter less icky road stalker movie this year. It was called Joy Ride. I’ll take that one over this every time.

    • Jarv says :

      Roadkill FTW!

      You’re spot on- and when you see the almost lascivious way he films Long, it becomes doubly icky.

      Also, the essence of the monster here is that he’s testing the pheromones to get what he needs to survive- so if he is identifying with the monster, then what’s he trying to say?

      I’ve tried to be fair, but failed.

      • Jarv says :

        PS- he’s on record identifying with the kid in Powder. Spot on.

        Thematically, this and powder are intensely dodgy.

        Fucking pervert.

      • Droid says :

        Joy Ride is pretty brilliant. And if you have the dvd, watch the original cut. It’s the argument for extended reshoots. Bad last 20 minutes made terrific.

    • Droid says :

      I don’t recall these things in the 1st one, but i do remember the shot of the guys pissing in the 2nd one. Always thought that was a bit off.

      The scene in Powder, I thought intended to show Powder looking longingly at the normal boy. He longed to look normal. At least, that’s what I thought the intention of the scene was.

      • Jarv says :

        It’s a tough one, because I noted it as unsettling when I saw it in the cinema- and just put it down to the film being good.

        The licking in particular is supremely dodgy- if I’d known at the time, I’d have struggled more with it.

      • Bartleby says :

        Droid, I think you are probably right, or who knows, as Powder is supposedly in touch with the universe, maybe he’s just appreciating all the flying midichlorians.

        But, the way the scene is filmed, and some itneractions with the boy earlier, most definitely cast a homoerotic tone, which I found odd. i went into Powder expecting to quite enjoy it, but I didn’t. Too muddled, saccharine and silly, with a few odd undercurrents there. I suspect you are right about the intention or rationale of the scene, but again–it plays like Megan Fox in Transformers. It’s a good-looking young man with his shirt off, and water cascading down his body in slo-motion while dramatic music plays in the background, and Powder is hanging out at the edge of the frame leering like a creeper.

        It doesnt help that Salva’s albino kid sort of looks like Michael Jackson did by that point.

      • Jarv says :

        It doesnt help that Salva’s albino kid sort of looks like Michael Jackson did by that point.

        Funny.

      • koutchboom says :

        Hey all I know is Sam Rockwell learned how to keep his mouth shut, and so far his copycatting of Gary Oldman has given him quite the career.

  3. ThereWolf says :

    Hmmm…

    Have always intended to watch this but now I don’t think so. In this case, I can’t separate the art from the artist.

    Funny captions, particularly Jesus in a hat & Celine… Nice one.

    • Jarv says :

      With early Polanski- Chinatown in particular, it doesn’t reflect the man himself too much, so I can almost forget who’s directing it. However, as Jonah says, the way Salva films this, and the themes he’s looking at make it downright uncomfortable, sordid even.

  4. Xiphos0311 says :

    fuck off with all that high minded chicken shit about separating art and artists. THESE MOTHERFUCKERS RAPED CHILDREN FUCK THEM. THEY DESERVE NOTHING LESS THAN A MOTHERFUCKING SHIV IN PRISON AFTER GETTING GANG BANGED BY AN ENTIRE CELL BLOCK. I can’t stomach this collaborationist horse shit any more. I know far to may people who’s lives have been ruined by degenerates to get all hoity toity and fucking cowardly and say Oh but he makes movies. First off they’re MOTHERFUCKING MOVIES that isn’t art secondly IF YOU RAPE CHILDREN YOU DESERVE NOTHING BUT FUCKING DESTRUCTION. You don’t get to a slap on the wrist or live out your life in comfort in shit bag Eurpoe while all the Hollywood pieces of shit suck your dick, FUCK THAT FUCK IT RIGHT IN THE MOTHERFUCKING EAR.

    • koutchboom says :

      So I take it Xi’s not in favor of a Ferris Bueller reunion then anytime soon?

    • Jarv says :

      As someone that lives in the UK and shitbag Europe, I just want it on record that it’s only the French and Swiss that tolerate this sort of thing. We don’t, and the Spanish don’t.

      Salva got 15 months for filming the sexual abuse of a 12 year old. That’s disgusting- and well done America. He was supported by frigging Coppolla when he got out, which is suspect, to say the least, and it’s all pretty sickening really. That he then makes films with a young cast that are thematically dodgy, to say the least, is double sickening. He’s a pervert, and a degenerate and it’s hard to watch any film he makes without thinking about this. So I don’t, as a rule, now.

    • Droid says :

      I don’t think anyone’s defended this director, or Polanski, personally have they? I think the belief that they should be in jail is pretty unanimous.

      Objectively keeping a film separate from real life influences is neither “high minded” nor “chicken shit”. It’s reserving the right to judge a film on it’s own merits. This doesn’t mean you cannot choose to vilify an individual related to its making, if you wish.

      I’m sure many people didn’t refrain from watching Mike Tyson’s return to boxing after he served his prison sentence for rape.

      • Jarv says :

        There’s a few differences- though I agree that there shouldn’t be.

        Tyson got 6 years to start with, whereas Salva was sentenced to 15 months and served less.

        Paedophilia is perceived as the worst crime imaginable, worse than rape.

        Tyson didn’t effectively relive his proclivities through his art- which Jeepers Creepers appears to.

        Aside from that, this is a personal thing- I tried to judge it separately and failed, because it does “feel” icky- particularly in the way he films Long.

        I did own up to that it’s my failure and unfair on the film- but I honestly couldn’t get it out of my mind when watching it.

      • Jarv says :

        I shouldn’t have done this one really. In hindsight it was stirring a hornet’s nest.

      • Droid says :

        Rape is a repulsive crime. The length of the sentence is really neither here nor there. Neither Tyson nor Salva should be judged on the length of their sentence. They should be judged on their crime. Both are grotesque. That is not the issue. The issue is, in my opinion, a categorical contradiction in public opinion. Salva is a monster and Tyson returns to boxing and is widely accepted back into public life, despite both serving time for their crimes. Both were paroled early. Tysons comeback fight was purchased by 1.52 million households. HOUSEHOLDS, not people. This is a man who had recently got out of jail for raping a woman. Tyson even ended up being celebrated in films like The Hangover.

        Don’t get me wrong, I’m not defending Salva. There is no defending a man who has done what he is convicted of doing. I also don’t think that Silva should have got anywhere near a film set, let alone the directors chair. As discussed, there are sequences in his films that are uncomfortable, because they appear to be influenced by his predilection. But overall, I’m just observing a contradiction in public opinion regarding Salva and Tyson. Polanski ran from his crime, and if you ask me, is the worst case of the lot. The other two served their time at least.

      • Jarv says :

        I, actually, agree with you. Particularly regarding Polanski.

        The argument is that Salva’s sentence was inappropriately short. Furthermore, I think it’s outrageous that he’s able to work in the field that allowed him opportunity and means to commit the crime in the first place- Coppolla is enabling him, in my opinion.

        I just meant that while rape is repulsive, it seems to be one rung down on the ladder from paedophilia. This is not to advocate rape, but perhaps it is to do with the herd instinct and protection of children.

        Tyson being in the hangover is fucking repulsive, and being in the hangover 2 hanging out like one of the guys is very, very wrong. He’s a FUCKING RAPIST you cocksuckers. He’s not one of your mates.

      • Droid says :

        Salva’s sentence was inappropriately short.

        I agree, but the judicial system is to blame for this, not Salva. He should still be locked up in my opinion. Castrated and locked away. But it’s not his fault for receiving such a lenient sentence.

      • Jarv says :

        There’s also a total lack of repentance from both of them, but Salva in particular. Look at this- it’s legit, and I haven’t edited it:

        [It] contains many of my thoughts from my time in prison in its subtext. It was a terrible time for me, enduring the constant taunts. I often felt like Flanery’s [Sean Patrick Flanery's] albino character. My power did not come from within myself, though; my close friend Francis [Francis Ford Coppola] gave me that power…

        No, dickface, you weren’t persecuted. That’s revolting, and makes Powder almost unwatchable in my eyes.

  5. Spud McSpud says :

    Intersting, Jarv. I had no idea about the Victor Silva / paedo link, but I did wonder why the camera spends so long lingering on Justin Long. And now I know, I don’t think I’ll ever watch this movie in the same light again… Eeeechh…

  6. tombando says :

    Annnnnnnnnd with that, I think I will pass(paging Harold and Chloe Moretz) on this and break out the Cave Dwellers again.

    • koutchboom says :

      Yeah that’s the one major failure of Dark Shadows. Don’t know what the fuck Timmy B was thinking with casting her as the teenage possibly sex pot, but it didn’t work at all. Don’t know why he didn’t just go with some 18 year old something and cast them as a “teenager”, she’s the real weak aspect of that otherwise fun film.

      • tombando says :

        Of course Harold would be the one drooling over Moretz.

      • Jarv says :

        There’s more than one fail to Dark Shadows. I used to be fairly pro-Burton, but I’m not watching it. Those trailers have put me right off.

        Why do so few people know how to cut a decent trailer nowadays? Because between Dark Shadows, Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter, John Carter, The Dark Knight Rises and Prometheus almost every release this year has had trailers actively putting me off watching it.

  7. Just Pillow Talk says :

    I’ve never seen this all the way through and have no intention.

    In reality, Xi is right. We can talk rationally about differentiating the movie from the director, but fuck it. Asshole needs to burn, just a repulsive human being.

    • Jarv says :

      I couldn’t do it. Usually I go into a lot more critically with a review, but this time out, I stripped it down- because it’s obviously competent but blatantly tainted, and I can’t look at it outside of that prism.

      The licking Long bit makes me feel ill watching it now, and not in a good way.

    • Droid says :

      Fantasising that a paedo burns or is stabbed in prison while getting gangraped isn’t reality.

      • Jarv says :

        Well, no. However, I’m not sure it isn’t reality- the fraggle wing in prisons exists for a reason. And there’s a long list of scumbags that have been on the receiving end of atrocious retribution at the hands of general populations of prisons: Yorkshire ripper was blinded, Boston Strangler had his throat cut etc.

        I really should have done another film.

      • Droid says :

        Was Salva stabbed to death while getting gangraped in prison? No. Was he burned to death? No. This is wish fulfilment, not reality.

      • Jarv says :

        Sorry- gotcha.

        Thought you meant in general. Something did happen to him in the way of reprisals though. They taunted him.

        Except I’ll bet he’s toning it down.

      • Droid says :

        My issues with this is that the wish fulfilment undermines what is actually an interesting topic. The effect of personal prejudices on entertainment. It’s fascinating to me the difference between something like this, or Polanski, to someone like Tyson. Why is Tyson not the subject of viscious tirades, but Salva and Polanski are? All three are deserving of such hatred. Why was Tyson accepted back with open arms, and why did so many people support his comeback by purchasing Pay TV? A convicted rapist is celebrated and a convicted paedo is reviled. The girl Tyson raped was just 18. Because she’s not a minor, does this make his crime less vile and reprehensible?

      • Jarv says :

        If you look at the individual cases then there’s almost a balance sheet:

        1) Tyson

        He is a boxer. A sport regarded as being thuggish, with a less than glorious history.

        His crime was rape, which is perceived as being lesser than the other two, because, as you say, she’s not a minor (or in the case of Salva, male).

        He served 6 Years

        On Return, he fought for a living- doesn’t reflect his crime, and now is revered in some kind of weird scumbaggy way. There’s also an element of Tyson as some kind of simple picked on ghetto boy there as well.

        2) Polanski

        Drugged, raped and sodomised a minor. Appalling crime

        Never served time, ran away.

        Continued to make films, but they don’t reflect his proclivities.

        Reviled by most deservedly. Has his balls licked by Hollywood who think that he has suffered enough (I am not convinced of this)

        3) Salva

        Drugged, sexually abused a 12 year old boy. Filmed it. By far the youngest victim and also male.

        Sentenced to 2 years, served 15 months.

        Back in cinema. Work since he was released reflects his proclivities, for reasons gone into.

      • Jarv says :

        Point being, when reduced like that it’s the “what” bit of their comeback that makes the difference. Tyson operates in a violent sport, although I really think that things like the Hangover should not be using him, whereas the other two are artists.

        The stereotype is the sensitive artist shouldn’t do these things, whereas a neanderthal fighter it’s almost to be expected. When you throw in that Salva practically relives it on camera in his films, then it inspires more anger than Tyson.

        That’s my hypothesis anyway.

      • Droid says :

        Boxers are expected to rape women?

        Man, we’re a long way from glory days of Ali and Frazier.

      • Jarv says :

        No they aren’t, obviously. They are expected to conduct a career of being punched in the head and inflicting as much damage on another human being as possible, though.

      • Droid says :

        He served 6 Years

        No he didn’t. He was sentenced to six. Served three.

        Personally, they’re all scumbags, and I’m not saying one is better or worse than the other.

        I’m just really intrigued as to how Tyson gets a free pass while the other two are reviled.

      • Jarv says :

        I always thought he served 6 for some reason.

        Ridiculous.

        If I had to guess, it’s because he fights for a living, and they’re meant to be “artists”. That would be my shout at it. When you throw in that paedophilia is perceived as being a “worse” crime, particularly homosexual paedophilia, then that’ll be why he escapes censure in comparison.

        Also, Tyson has long been called a “freak show” and I wouldn’t be surprised if there wasn’t an element of the mentality that has people attending public executions to his comeback.

      • Droid says :

        So, by paedophilia being perceived as a “worse” crime than rape, two men are reviled and one is celebrated. Do you see the disconnect here? Why I’m so baffled by this? Because Tyson’s a boxer, a violent profession, sexual violence is accepted/rationalised/forgiven.

      • Jarv says :

        That’s the only explanation I can give to it. I essentially agree with you, but think there’s also an element of remorse that’s not being considered.

        Polanski, in particular, has never been the slightest bit sorry for what he did. He’s not the least bit remorseful that he drugged, raped and eventually sodomised a 13 year old girl.

        No idea if Tyson ever showed remorse.

      • Droid says :

        This is why Polanski is the worst offender. He ran, and a weird groundswell of support has built up over the years.

        The other two at least did their time. Not enough time if you ask me.

      • Jarv says :

        I’m torn between Salva and Polanski as the worst. Polanski running puts him out in the lead, and his support from the cognoscenti is disgusting. BUT I didn’t get the feeling that he’s reliving it when I watched the 9th Gate.

        Salva, on the other hand, served a ridiculously short time, and his support from Coppolla is so exaggerated as to make me think that he has something on him. However, what makes me lean towards Salva is the element of re-enactment in the films.

        This is really turd comparison, though. At the end of the day, they’re both shits and got off far too lightly.

      • Droid says :

        Horrible subject this. Move on?

      • Jarv says :

        No, it’s not nice.

        This is why I should have done a different film. Wasn’t thinking properly.

      • Droid says :

        Jarv, new assignment. Rock of Ages. Out tomorrow.

      • Jarv says :

        Meh.

        Pass.

        Leave me alone, I’ve got Gossip to write up then All ABout My Mother. Which means I have to rewatch the horrible shit.

      • Droid says :

        hehehe

        C’mon. Russell Brand. Tom Cruise singing.

        I know nothing else about it. But surely that’s enough to get your bum in the seat.

      • Droid says :

        Well, you’ve got a Made in Britain film. A Fantastic Fear of Everything. Starring Simon Pegg, who looks remarkably like a very thin version of GingerFats.

      • Droid says :

        Casper’s back in cinemas!

        The Pact.

        “A young woman returns home to confront a sinister presence in this spine-tingling horror!”

      • Droid says :

        Awesome. Jaws is out on Friday.

      • Jarv says :

        A man called Casper.

        Awesome.

      • Jarv says :

        You know, I thought about seeing that in the cinema. Then remembered that I don’t like the director.

      • Droid says :

        Gotta be quick. Man, that Fear of Everything movie, Ill Manors and Red Tails (bleh) all opened last week. Gone after one week. You can still see Bayvengers though.

      • Jarv says :

        Ill Manors is a DVD for me. I can’t cope with misery porn in the cinema this year. Far too much of it last year. Fear of Everything ditto.

        Fuck Red Tails.

      • Jarv says :

        You can still see Iron Sky as well!

        Extended run now- well done PCC.

      • Droid says :

        Didn’t you watch Gossip weeks ago? How can you remember it? I forgot it about 6 seconds after it finished.

      • Jarv says :

        I wrote the plot summary and some notes at the time. I’m referring to them. I’m about half way through at the moment.

        It’s just a crap film.

  8. tombando says :

    Didnt Harolds stooge Beaks choose a rape film as his fave of past 15 years?

    • Jarv says :

      Yes- Irreversible.

      Which is actually a “good” film. Albeit a reprehensible one. It’s an art movie and it’s meant to piss you off. He’s wrong though- there’s no way it was even in the top 50 of the last decade.

  9. Droid says :

    This summer is shaping up to be pretty shite. Best summer movies have been Battleship, Bayvengers and MIB3. And I wouldn’t give them more than 2.5 Changs.

    • Droid says :

      2012 films I’ve seen this year: (based on the wiki list)

      We Need to Talk About Kevin – 2
      The Grey – 3
      Man on a Ledge – 2
      Chronicle – 0.5
      Journey 2: The Mysterious Island – 2
      Safe House – 2
      Rampart – 1
      Wanderlust – 0
      Project X – 0
      John Carter – 1.5
      21 Jump Street – 2.5
      The Hunger Games – 2.5
      Wrath of the Titans – 1.5
      The Cabin in the Woods – 1.5
      The Pirates! Band of Misfits – 3
      The Raven – 1.5
      The Avengers – 2.5
      The Dictator – 1
      Battleship – 2.5
      Men in Black 3 – 2.5
      Snow White and the Huntsman – 2.5
      Piranha 3DD – OoD
      Prometheus – 2.5
      Iron Sky – 2.5

      Best are The Grey and The Pirates!

      A lot of 2.5’s.

      • Jarv says :

        I’d put Iron Sky in at 3. But I’m biased. I’ve seen the Woman in black, and a lot of shit. I’ll catch up at the end of the year.

      • Droid says :

        This is, actually, not that many. There is so much shit on the wiki list. It’s unbelievable.

        The only movie that could be good for months is TDKR. And who knows about that. Otherwise it’s a wait until the end of August when Lawless comes out, followed by Gangster Squad and Killing Them Softly.

      • Droid says :

        Silent Hill: Revelation 3D

        October 26.

        Fingers crossed on this one.

      • Jarv says :

        Yes. Praying for it. Could go either way.

  10. Toadkillerdog says :

    Just read some of this, hmm. Thorny issues raised, but as far as Tyson is concerned, I have zero issues with anyone who feels that he has gotten a free pass back into ‘society’ even though he served his time.

    However, the Tyson case illustrates that people are severely conflicted with regards to the known facts and the outcome. Rape is rape, when a person says no, then you stop. But when you are dealing with a ‘he said she said’ and a celebrity who is widely regarded as being a violent person, then who are you going to believe?

    Tyson has always maintained his innocence and Desiree Washington had a prior case of making a rape accusation that was excluded at trial, and she willingly went to his hotel room.

    Does not mean it did not happen the way she said, but it does raise considerable doubt.

    There is no doubt about Polanski and Salva.

    • Jarv says :

      Convicted, and that was with the best defence that money could buy. Prior record of accusation or not, I suspect he’s guilty.

      Salva filmed it. Unquestionably guilty.

      Polanski fled. Unquestionably guilty- not to mention the millions of other accounts of his guilt out there.

      • Toadkillerdog says :

        If pressed i would say I believe he is guilty as well, but i would honestly have some doubt.

        I recall the trial and Tyson did himself no favors by his arrogant and practically dismissive attitude at the trial.

        He thought he would buy his way out and could act like an arrogant asshole, he was very much mistaken.

      • Jarv says :

        Faintly ironic given today’s film review this…

      • Jarv says :

        And I’m insanely chuffed with that hyperlinked picture.

      • koutchboom says :

        Also speaking of all this, read Luc Bessons biography sometime.

      • Jarv says :

        What’s in it?

      • koutchboom says :

        Just read his Wiki entry and you’ll see.

      • Jarv says :

        Married a 16 year old?

      • koutchboom says :

        Also getting a baby out of her when he was was like 34. I guess that’s not that bad?

      • Jarv says :

        There’s a difference. 16 is legal in a lot of countries (and states in the US), and had kids with her.

        16-18 falls in a grey zone where maturity matters. Younger than 14 does not.

      • Toadkillerdog says :

        If it was my 16 year old daughter, they would never have found him. I know 16 is legal in some countries, but I think in the states it requires a parent to approve a marriage at that age -i think. There was a case in kansas a few years ago that tickles my memory but I think duded was 21 not 30. Still, a 16 year old is a child. A sophomore or junior in HS. A child with a 30 year old man. I agree with Kman on this.

      • Jarv says :

        Yes, I wouldn’t be pleased either. However, this always comes down to maturity differences, and what’s good for one isn’t for another.

        I’ve always had a feeling that the 16 age of consent thing is more to avoid sending 17 year olds to prison than any other reason, because you’re not an adult here until 18.

      • Toadkillerdog says :

        I know that is it arbitrary saying 16 is unlawful and 17 is, but in my mind 16 is a child

      • Jarv says :

        Well, given where I work, I see a lot of 15-16 year olds, and the range is huge. It’s an arbitrary number based on when people become sexually active.

        As such, do we really want to be packing jails with 17 year old kids who copped a blow job of their 17 year old girlfriend?

        It’s obviously undesirable for an 18 year age difference, when she’s right at the bottom of the scale (incidentally, it does also suggest he was sniffing around her before she turned of age).

        We’re not talking Chaplain or Jerry Lee Lewis here.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 674 other followers

