Radio Days (1987)

Director: Woody Allen

Starring: Mia Farrow, Dianne Wiest, Julie Kavner

Release date: January 30 (US). My second ‘Woody’ of the series – heh! – only about two write-ups ago as well. As with Danny Rose, I bypassed this one on release too. May contain a violent rabbi and spoilers…

No synopsis. Well, there’s no plot is there… Allen’s love-letter to growing up to the sound of 1940’s radio is a miss and hit affair. Mixing autobiography with fantasy, Radio Days at turns leadened the peepers, then found me misty-eyed with melancholy. Much of Radio Days revolves around American legend and difficult for a Manc oik like me to latch onto. Having said that, nostalgia surely transcends cultural boundaries; it’s a different soundtrack and a different set of memories but the message will be the same the world over. One thing I did appreciate is the reference to Orson Welles and his alien invasion broadcast. Unfortunately, the segment doesn’t deliver on the promise really – at the prospect of a vigorous anal probing, Aunt Bea’s new bloke abandons his car and buggers off rapid leaving her to walk the 6 miles home alone. I thought it was anti-climactic, but obviously within the framework of the film this scene is only meant to be a single snapshot among many, not a running gag.

I don’t think Stretford Baths from my past is quite so evocative…

Allen narrates a path through the film, seeing through the eyes of his younger self, Joe (Seth Green), absorbing events as the songs play through the changing years. Though predominantly sketch-based, Bea’s (Dianne Wiest) lonely, ever hopeful search for a guy to sweep her away is a common thread throughout Radio Days, as is Sally White’s (Mia Farrow) rise from witless usherette to unlikely radio personality (via getting chucked off a laxative ad). After weeks of dogged self-training, it’s ace hearing Sally’s Brooklyn accent finally turn plummy. During a shindig near the end, in possibly the finest moment of the film, she slips back into the ‘Noo Yoik’ twang for a second when reminded of her humble beginnings. You see one of her new radio friends fire a brief double-take at Sally, then shrug it off. Nice, that. I guess Woody is saying it doesn’t matter where you’re from; if you work hard and you want it bad enough, you can make it happen.

The legendary Kirby Kyle

Vignette films must be awkward for actors hoping to develop a role. Their characters don’t need an arc and here, they’re playing memories borne from a young kid’s mind. The memories come at a rush. That’s okay but it’s a little exhausting at times, the constant bombardment of images and sounds, it’s like a juggling act but using more and more objects the longer the film goes on. I think the humour suffers as a result. I loved the Kirby Kyle anecdote though, the accident prone baseball player. I wonder if Allen faced a dilemma there, wonder if he considered reprising that story at various points throughout the film – you know, meanwhile, Kirby had another accident… It’s pretty cute at the beginning too; burglars break into a house and in mid-robbery decide to ring up a popular show to play Guess That Tune. They win and the next day a bunch of prizes turn up at the home of the burgled as some kind of recompense. Also, can’t forget Ma (Julie Kavner), Pa (Michael Tucker) and the rabbi giving Joe a group-slap. Funny.

Radio City Music Hall – stunning

It’s certainly an ambitious effort, that Radio Days could have easily turned into an indecipherable muddle yet doesn’t is a credit to Woody Allen’s sure direction. My own kid memories are a tumbling blur now and he captures that same kind of kick and rush effect flawlessly. But I subscribe completely to the idea of certain songs reaching out through those Mission speakers and whisking thee away to a land that time forgot, an audio time machine, recalling exactly where you were, what you were doing, who you were doing it to, stuff that was happening in the periphery… It’s a neat idea for a film and it’s maybe too honest an attempt because visually, the bedlam in one’s head needs to be tamed somewhat first, not just transferred directly to the screen. Radio Days kind of pulled me in all directions at once and quite often I’d be watching a scene but thinking of the one five minutes before.

Something tells me they aren’t looking at a zitting cisticola

By the time I arrived in this crazy mixed-up beautiful world, families sat around the telly, not the radio. I asked me mum though and she recalls her family grouped in front of an old wireless, listening to the traitorous ‘Lord Haw Haw’ during WW2, or whirling around the parlour to the latest Glen Miller cut, or laughing crazily along with The Goon Show. Folk can’t really sit around an iPod nowadays (I know, I know – technically they can but it ain’t the same kinda shizzle, dig). But it does resonate, particularly Allen’s use of tragedy, when a whole country stops and waits for news of a complete stranger, unified by the airwaves, linked by a common humanity… On a lighter note, I did like Ceil (Renee Lippin) laughing at a ventriloquist – on the radio. Abe (Josh Mostel) says; “He’s a ventriloquist on the radio… how do you know he’s not moving his lips?” Quality.

She loves a good gargle

Though hard to shine individually within the film’s choppy structure, Wiest probably comes away the winner, with Farrow (superb again, as in Broadway Danny Rose) also tying her scenes together. The moment of her radio breakthrough is interrupted by news of the attack on Pearl Harbor and as the play actors file out of the studio Sally can be heard to ask; “Who is Pearl Harbor?” The attack saved her career though, I reckon – Sally was about to make a tit of herself. Radio Days ends on a hint of sadness; it’s hard to argue about the radio voices growing dimmer and dimmer with the passage of time. But meself, I only need a certain song to bring ‘em back through the snap, crackle and pop of the white noise loud and clear…

On the whole I enjoyed this. Woody has surprised me again, as he did with Danny Rose. Give it a spin, if you haven’t already.

 

Trailer: http://tinyurl.com/6mhnh7o

Film: http://tinyurl.com/6w9g9p5

I’ll go for 3 Old Wireless Boxes out of 5.

 

Cheers, folk.

ThereWolf, May 2012

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About ThereWolf

I only come out at night... mostly...

21 responses to “Radio Days (1987)”

  1. Jarv says :

    Really do not like this one. Bores me shitless.

    • ThereWolf says :

      I can see why Radio Days would strike someone like that – it did the same to me several times during the film, but only for short periods and then I was into it again.

    • tombando says :

      Have not seen it, not too interested, not a big woody allen fan. Take the money and run is funny though. Grew up listening to the radio, transister and all, but dont bother with it much now.

  2. Droid says :

    I’ll be honest, I’ve never heard of this one. It’s funny, because I’m not a big fan of Woody the neurotic New Yorker, but I am a fan of Woody’s period nostalgia-laden films. They tend to have a strong “arts” theme, and I find they have a bit more to them than his other films.

    Theatre = Bullets over Broadway. (my fav of his, aside from Annie Hall)
    Film = Purple Rose of Cairo.
    Literature = Midnight in Paris.
    Jazz = Sweet and Lowdown.

    and now I learn he made one on Radio. I will have to check it out.

    Thanks Wolfie. Great review.

    • Droid says :

      Obviously, I mustn’t like Woody onscreen. He’s not in any of those films I mentioned apart from Annie Hall.

    • Continentalop says :

      You ever see his whackier earlier comedies droid, like Take the Money and Run, Sleepers or Bananas?

      • Droid says :

        No, I haven’t. I’ve seen Everything You Always Wanted to Know About Sex, and found it a bit hit and miss. Which of those do you recommend most? I’ll have a look once I get internets up and running.

      • Continentalop says :

        I think all 3 are funny but I personally think Sleepers to be the best of them.

      • Droid says :

        Alright then. I’ll start there and see how I go.

      • Jarv says :

        I have and you could add Crimes and Misdemeanours to that as well. They’re actually quite funny and less angsty.

        Everything you always wanted to know about sex is shit. It’s hit and miss until the neurotic sperm thing with him at the end which made me hate it.

      • Droid says :

        Yeah, the sperm thing was the first thing I thought of. It simply didn’t work, and went on forever.

      • Jarv says :

        It was the last and longest section as I remember. Man, it really annoyed me.

      • Continentalop says :

        I thought the mad scientist skin in EYWTKAS (BWATA) was pretty funny.

        Match Point was another good film by him. But he truthfully bats like .176 nowadays.

    • ThereWolf says :

      Cheers, R2.

      See, I’ve not seen any of the 4 you’ve mentioned (though I might have caught a bit of Cairo). Also, I remember liking Annie Hall but it’s a long while since I’ve seen it, couldn’t tell you what the story is or anything. I’ll have to look at that again one day.

  3. Continentalop says :

    I mostly have found memories of this movie which I saw on VHS when I was about 16. I think the fact it was about radio shows captured my attention the most since I had a weird fascination with them. WCCO still played old Inner Sanctum, Suspense and the Whisperer episodes when I was a kid, and I was aware that the Shadow, Green Hornet, Lone Ranger and Superman all had successful radio shows. One of my favorite bits in the film was Wallace Shawn as the voice of a Shadow like character.

    Sorry to go off in Ginger Fatass reminiscing territory there. Damn good review Wolf.

  4. kloipy says :

    Wolf- this is a beautifully written review. I love this type of nostalgia. If you are interested and I’m not certain if you guys get it on radio over there at all, but I’m almost certain you can get it on podcast. But if you are into nostalgia and radio, you should check out A Prairie Home Companion, it is definitely an american nostalgia, but it’s a live radio show, with stories, music, humor. It’s been running for years but it feels so geniune and perfect. I’ve been listening to it for years and i think you would like it. The host is Garrison Keillor and here’s just a sample of his style (this is his weekly monolouge of a fictional town he created)

    • ThereWolf says :

      Thanks, Kloipy.

      It’s an ‘okay’ review, maybe I could’ve put more of meself into it!

      “Cougar trap…” Hah! Yeh, that was quite good – but I think if I was listening to that bloke’s voice on the radio I’d probably fall asleep – it’s quite a relaxing tone.

      Can’t say I’ve ever been a huge radio listener – I used to listen to a transistor radio under the covers when I was supposed to be sleeping, school in the morning. I’d just keep spinning the tuner till I found something interesting – song or conversation, whatever. I’d have to keep the volume dead low in case I got heard and told off!

    • ThereWolf says :

      Thanks for reblogging, Manon. I’m not au fait with reblogging, so I’m not altogether sure what it means but it sounds exciting!

      • MANON KUBLER BY MANON KUBLER says :

        SALUDOS AMIGO, PARA MI ES UN VERDADERO HONO REDOBLARLOS, PODER MOSTRAR SUS SUENOS, SUS IDEAS. SU PASION POR EL MUNDO. SALUDOS Y SUERTE Y NOS SEGUIREMOS VIENDO POR ESTA VIA. HAGAMOS DEL MUNDO UN LUGAR PARA REENCONTRARNOS. MANON KUBLER

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 684 other followers

